Catch up with the Crew – Tuesday 9th July, 2019

Jul 9th, 2019

Category: Blog

Catch up with the Crew – Tuesday 9th July, 2019

When Rachel isn’t taking naps during workouts at the box… 

…she is super busy doing lots of Mum things with her family. In her spare time, she can be found teaching high school kids, oh, and working out and being amazing at the box.

Sometimes she is so busy, husband Richard has no choice but to catch her by surprise at the gym…

Rachel’s 2 older boys, Cody and Jakob (Jake). are also regulars and have been for quite some time now, at the Wild South Youth Juniors program…

…while Xavier and Asha look on with interest.

As always, the best way to get to know Rach a bit more is to take some time to chat next time you see her in the box, grab one of her kids though so she is less distracted from keeping a keen eye on them…


Name: Rachel Anderson-Evans

Life Level (Age): 43

Job: Mum, teacher (high school PE, Health, Science)

When did you start with CFWS? : May 2016

Your Fundamentals experience? : I knew very little about CrossFit prior to doing my Fundamentals with Ruth. I had a friend in the US who was new to it and loving it and knew of a couple of friends in Australia who had picked it up after I left but was otherwise very green.

I wanted something consistent, that would challenge me, and help me regain condition after having my third baby (Xavier, who was 5 months old when I started Fundamentals).

Almost three years (and another baby later) I’m still here, still loving it, and am possibly at my strongest and fittest ever! With a whole heap of new friends to boot.

Your CrossFit experience to date? : I wish I had found CrossFit ten years ago. I’ve done so many different forms of exercise after growing up in a very active family, but I truly believe now that CrossFit is my thing. I love pretty much everything about it, especially the community that comes with turning up regularly.

Life outside of CFWS? : My husband and I have been married 5 and a half years, and between us, we have 5 children, ranging from 14 months to 12 years old. We are very involved in our church (c3 on Spey St) and live on a dairy farm next to Forest Hill.

Any movements you particularly like? : Strict toes to bar, toes to rings, cartwheels and deadlifts

What movements are you paying particular attention too? : I really want to conquer overhead squats, squat snatches and handstand walks

Anything coming up on your to-do list?? : I want to learn to properly link toes to bar and get some proper handstand push-ups.

If you had a warning label for yourself, what would it say? : Gets super emotional super easily

What do you think the most unpleasant sounding word is to you? : There are too many to list!

Do you prefer to swim in pools or the ocean? : Ocean pools, like the ones that are at all the Sydney beaches

Have you ever met someone famous? : Oprah, Russell Crowe, Train

What is the first thing that you do when you wake up? : Wish I had gone to bed earlier so that I had slept longer

Have you read any good books lately? : Any novel by Lee Child (Jack Reacher) and am almost finished reading aloud the Harry Potter series to my big boys – it’s taken 2 years!

What makes you laugh more than it really should? : The banter that goes on between Stacy and the guys during a class

What life lesson have you had to learn the hard way? : That sometimes being a grown up really sucks


Today’s WOD